The MTA warns New Yorkers that these will be gridlock traffic days in NYC


As a clear indication that the holidays are, finally, upon us, the Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA) has just released a list of 14 gridlock alert days that run through the end of the year. During the highlighted dates, car traffic is expected to reach an all-time high, making it incredibly difficult to move around in a vehicle.

The 2022 gridlock days are as follows:

  • Wednesday, November 16, 2022
  • Thursday, November 17, 2022
  • Tuesday, November 22, 2022
  • Wednesday, November 23, 2022
  • Wednesday, November 30, 2022
  • Thursday, December 1, 2022
  • Friday, December 2, 2022
  • Tuesday, December 6, 2022
  • Wednesday, December 7, 2022
  • Thursday, December 8, 2022
  • Friday, December 9, 2022
  • Tuesday, December 13, 2022
  • Wednesday, December 14, 2022
  • Thursday, December 15, 2022

Now that you’ve got that list handy, make sure to add it to your calendar and opt for public modes of transportation on those actual days. We even suggest walking or biking over driving your own car or grabbing an Uber or a yellow taxi. 

While we’re on the subject: did you know that, according to the the City of New York, the term gridlock actually originated here, in reference to the grid plan that defines Manhattan’s streets? Specifically, the word describes a traffic situation in which intersections are blocked by vehicles, therefore preventing cars from moving in either direction. Yes, a familiar situation indeed.



Source link